Homemade Vanilla Frosting

Recently I whipped up a batch of sugar cookies. When it was time to frost and decorate them, I realized that I didn’t have any frosting. Normally, I have a container of store bought frosting in the fridge. Luckily I had some powdered sugar in the cupboard and I was able to make homemade frosting. It was quick and really complemented the sugar cookies! My son and I had a blast creating different colors and decorating the cookies.

This is the exact recipe I used. It is easy and quick to whip up your own frosting and it tastes delicious! You won’t want to buy frosting again! Here’s what you need.

ingredients.jpg

Ingredients

  • 3 Cups Powdered Sugar
  • 1/3 Cup Butter, Softened
  • 1 tsp. Vanilla
  • 2 Tbsp Milk

Instructions

Combine powdered sugar and butter in a mixing bowl, stirring well.

Stir in vanilla and milk until smooth and thick.

If the frosting is too thick, stir in a little milk until you have the desired thickness.

If your frosting gets too thin, add in a little powdered sugar until you achieve the desired thickness.

reg frosting.jpg

Mix in food coloring to experiment with fun colors.

 

 

Store unused frosting in an airtight container. Place in the refrigerator up to a week.

Happy baking!

2 thoughts on “Homemade Vanilla Frosting

Leave a Reply

