15 Quotes to Shift Your Perspective and Help Change Your Mindset

Hello friends!

Happy Sunday!

It’s a brand new week. New possibilities and new opportunities lie ahead.

There are 27 days left of 2016.

Crazy.

What are you going to do with them?

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

The mind is everything. What you think, you become. – Buddha

I’ve used this quote a lot in my previous posts. It is a quote that resonates with me and has become my personal mantra.

It fits perfectly for this week’s inspirational post because I want to focus on mindset.

Here’s the thing. When you focus on the negative, dwell in it, soak it in, marinate in it… you are in a dangerous zone. Everything around you becomes negative… You’ll find yourself complaining about anything and everything; you become incredibly stressed out; you get irritated easily; you’re always cranky; you might be filled with anger; you hold onto grudges; your health will suffer; the people around you won’t want to be around you anymore..

I think we all get in that space to a certain degree, and most of the time, it never gets to that extreme point.

I used to be in that negative space. I was young, quite angry, and I allowed myself to get stressed out over the little things. It took several years for me to realize that it wasn’t doing me any good. In fact, it only made me miserable.

Change didn’t happen overnight, and chances are, this post won’t make you do a complete 180 turn around. It took work; Introspection; Forgiveness; A shift in my focus, my mindset.

Basically an “attitude adjustment.” (cue laughter and 90’s references)

But it all started with a choice. I chose to change my mindset. I chose to change my attitude. I chose to shift my focus.

And you can, too.

We all have bad days. We all make mistakes. Things are not always going to work the way we want them to. People will not always live up to the ridiculous expectations we set for them. And despite your best attempts, that Type A personality might kick in and cause you some stress.

Maybe it’s a rite of passage for most people. (me included) But as we get older, we start to realize what is actually important; who is actually important. We start to chill out a little, to relax, and we learn to enjoy our lives.

You cannot always control your circumstances. But you can control how you react to them.

“What is the difference between an obstacle and an opportunity? Our attitude toward it. Every opportunity has a difficulty, and every difficulty has an opportunity.” –J. Sidlow Baxter.

This week, I compiled a small list of quotes, phrases, and ideas to spark mindfulness, and help you shift your focus and change your mindset.

mind1.jpg

 

“I never lose. I either win or learn.”
-Nelson Mandela

 

“Surely, in the light of history, it is more intelligent to hope rather than to fear, to try rather than not to try. For one thing we know beyond all doubt; nothing has ever been achieved by the person who says: it can’t be done.”
-Eleanor Roosevelt

 

mind2.jpg

 

“Don’t find fault, find a remedy.”
-Henry Ford

If you’ve made your point, stop talking.

 

When it rains, look for rainbows. When it’s dark, look for stars.

 

mind 4.jpg

 Explain your anger, don’t express it and you will immediately open the door to solutions instead of arguments.

 

When you can’t control what is happening, challenge yourself to control the way you respond to what is happening. That is where your power lies.

 

 

mind3.jpg

 

“Everyone should smile. Life really isn’t that serious. We make it hard. The sun rises. The sun sets. We just tend to complicate the process.”
-Arian Foster

 

“It all begins and ends in your mind. What you give power to, has power over you. If you allow it.”
-Leon Brown

 

“Whether you think you can, or think you can’t, you’re right.”
-Henry Ford

 

mind5.jpg

2 thoughts on “15 Quotes to Shift Your Perspective and Help Change Your Mindset

Leave a Reply

