The Best Cure for Cold Sores | An Orajel for Cold Sores Review

 

2016-12-22-16-20-181

 

 

*Disclaimer: I received this product complimentary from Smiley360 to test.  All opinions are my own.*

I’ve been dealing with cold sores since I was five. Plain and simple, cold sores suck. They are ugly, embarrassing, sometimes painful and/or itchy, and are incredibly helpful in destroying your self-esteem and confidence for at least a week.

When I was growing up, I would get at least two cold sores a year. Mostly during the winter months. I would treat it with rubbing alcohol and petroleum jelly. I would also take Zinc and Calcium everyday until it disappeared. Cold sores are so wonderful when you are a teenage girl. (note the dripping sarcasm)

As I’ve gotten older, cold sore appearances have been rare, thankfully. When I get a cold sore now, it usually means that I’m about to get very sick. (As was the case when I got strep throat two times in a row, in a span of two months.) I might also get one after being extremely sick or under times of major stress. (For example last summer when I was dealing with getting over being sick and planning on attending a family trip the very next week.) When this happens, I usually have about a week of dealing with the cold sore. Yay.

We are in the midst of the holiday season. Talk about stress. Now is not the time to be dealing with a cold sore. We have parties to attend, time to spend with our families, and people will be documenting it all on video or in pictures.

In October, I joined Smiley360. It’s a great website that sends you products to test out in exchange for your honest reviews. Sounds great, right? After joining, I filled out some information about myself and took a survey. I qualified to receive Orajel for Cold Sores. Now, I was excited to receive a free product, but also secretly hoping that I wouldn’t get a cold sore. My hope was to pass it along to a family member to try out. Who wants to get a cold sore?

Well, as luck would have it, I recently felt that familiar tingle. You know it. The one where you rush into the bathroom to look in the mirror, check out your face, and spend the rest of the day either in denial, or hoping and wishing that you are simply imagining it. After about two hours of both, I remembered that I had the Orajel for Cold Sores product hanging out in my medicine cabinet. I decided now was the best time to test it out.

In the package, you get four treatment vials. The vial is a plastic tube with clear liquid inside and a little white sponge applicator on the end. There is paper wrapping around half of the tube. The instructions were simple: Remove the paper wrapping and slide it on the other end of the tube. Squeeze the vial firmly, at the arrow, until it pops, allow the liquid to saturate the white sponge applicator and press it gently on your cold sore.

 

2016-12-22-16-19-531

 

After a few seconds, the spot on my lip was numb. No more tingling. I put the rest of the liquid on the area and relaxed on the couch. That evening, it was about eight hours later, I used a second treatment. The next day: no tingling, no swelling, no cold sore! Needless to say, I was extremely happy!

Now here’s the deal. I am very happy with the results of using this product. However, it is important to note that I used it at the first sign of a cold sore. If you can catch it right away, I think using this product can help prevent the cold sore from appearing. I would definitely recommend giving it a try!

 

 

Click here for a coupon to save $1 on your next purchase of Orajel for Cold Sores.

Leave a Reply

